Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open revolver

Makicjf

If I were to put together an actual open revolver in 38 ( short and .898 brass for major) is a V comp a good start?  I appear to shoot heavier guns better.  

I have zero experience with a V-Comp.

Jason

33 minutes ago, Bill Sahlberg said:

No sense making major as all 8 shot revolvers are scored minor in USPSA

In open?  I'd be shooting dotted and comped.

My understanding was 38 super, 9mm etc were eligible for major in open.

I'm fairly certain 38/357 is eligible for major in Revo  in a six shot, too.

I'm wanting to focus fully for the next 2 years in improving my optic Revo shooting for SC and ICORE.  

Honestly, I have no illusion of being "competitive" with a Revo in USPSA ( dotted or otherwise)

I just hate the idea of leaving points behind. I also simply want to build a safe shortish case major 38 caliber load.  

The only reason I shoot USPSA with a Revo at all is to practice for the ICORE regional and IRC.

Do you have any experience with a V-Comp?

I love my 5 inch 627, but wonder if a stouter blaster might work better in the role stated above.

Thanks.

Jason

If you are shooting open, your eight round revolver can be scored major. I have no idea on any of the rest of it as I only goofed off in revolver a little bit. Good luck

20 minutes ago, Makicjf said:

In open?  I'd be shooting dotted and comped.

My understanding was 38 super, 9mm etc were eligible for major in open.

I'm fairly certain 38/357 is eligible for major in Revo  in a six shot, too.

I'm wanting to focus fully for the next 2 years in improving my optic Revo shooting for SC and ICORE.  

Honestly, I have no illusion of being "competitive" with a Revo in USPSA ( dotted or otherwise)

I just hate the idea of leaving points behind. I also simply want to build a safe shortish case major 38 caliber load.  

The only reason I shoot USPSA with a Revo at all is to practice for the ICORE regional and IRC.