Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon XL 750 Shopping List

Hi All - 

I've been reloading for 15+ years using a combination of single stage and turret presses, but given my lack of time lately and the ridiculous ammo prices, I've decide to take the plunge into a progressive setup. After tons of research, I've decided on the XL750. Given the wide array of parts available and my lack of experience with this, I was hoping you guys could look over my shopping list and give your opinions on whether I'm missing anything and/or whether I'm wasting my money anywhere. For starters I'll be loading for 223, 44mag, and 357mag, but eventually I'll probably add 9mm and 45acp. My big bore rifles will probably stay on t-7 turret press. See attached shopping list below. Dang this stuff is expensive

Thanks in advance!

-Chris

image.thumb.png.de3260a026b3a696abbf24a0d785cc6b.png

I think you're off on your price for your 750 with 223. That looks like the price of the no caliber conversion machines, which is the only way they are selling now as of last week for the time being. 

That said, there is a decent price increase coming Jan 1 across the board, so don't wait. 

I have a new primer flip tray I'll sell you for 15, so you can save a ton right there off your 2300 haha. 

Thanks for the input guys.

I already have calipers, scales, etc. I also have dies, but I’ve been reading that the Dillon dies function better with the Dillon press. They were specifically designed for progressive reloading. Is this not true?

Thanks for the tip on the swage-it tool. That looks nice. Does it replace the priming setup? If so, I’d assume that you just run your brass through the system twice?

4 minutes ago, gunrush128 said:I’ve been reading that the Dillon dies function better with the Dillon press. 
5 minutes ago, gunrush128 said:

I’ve been reading that the Dillon dies function better with the Dillon press.

ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE!

5 minutes ago, gunrush128 said: