Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Burst fire with Ruger PCC & VQ trigger

Need some help on how to debug and resolve;  I'm not a trigger expert, but do understand the other aspects of the Ruger PCC pretty well.

Last night I had 2 separate instances of burst fire in my 9mm Ruger PCC with Volquartzen TG9 trigger.   One for 2 rounds, one for 5 rounds.   In several thousand rounds I have never had this issue prior ( I did switch ammo last night ) 

Some background.   I normally shoot very light 80pf loads, but last night was using some 109pf loads ( still light by standards ) ;  The TG9 trigger came directly from volquartzen but took 3 round trips for them to get it to a 2lb trigger pull.  Out of the box it was closer to 3.25lbs.   

I will call VQ and I suspect their tweaks may have contributed.   

Others who have modded their own triggers have reported burst fire instances.    Interested in points of view, ideas.    For now I may put the stock trigger back in which is frustrating as I need a few good match results for some steel challenge qualifiers.  

I think PC9 needs quite a bit of sear-hammer engagement due to it’s heavy bolt cycling above the trigger. It seems when the bolt closes, it might induce just enough shock and rotation for the sear to skip. I tried the 10/22 Kidd trigger job kit, the trigger felt perfect and passed function checks, but also caused bursts with live ammo. A 6.5” PC Charger with a comp and tele stock remained very controllable, compared to AK-74U in 5.45x39, albeit the rate of fire was a bit high. Finished the session with 1 round per mag (was chronoing a bunch of new loads), and returned things back to stock asap.

Your PCC has a super light front end, right?

1 hour ago, Siberian said: