Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Loaded Moonclip Storage

Adamj

There's a thread here from 4 years ago discussing the storage and transportation of loaded Moon clips. I'm just getting started in revolver competition and wanted to see if anyone has developed a new way or changed up their method for bringing loaded Moon Clips to a match.

I would love to find a manufactured insert for range bag like the ones user Brian Gonsalves made. Are my only options right now to stick with my fishing tackle box or draw my own plans for a rack?

From a tip I think I got here, I have a Flambeau utility box.  Model number 4006.  I bought it at Lowe's for a whopping $3.  And it holds 30 loaded .38 super moons like it was made for it.  Fits in the bottom of my bag as well.

I made a holder/carrier out of a plastic tool caddy. It's the kind with a handle and a compartment on either side. It fits exactly in the bottom of my bag. Bought 1/2" aluminum rod and cut it so 2 loaded moons fit on it. (they slide over 1/2") Drilled & tapped the bottoms 1/4x20. Mounted the rods spaced out so I get 24 moon clips x2. I load all mine before a match and recharge my belt as I go.

Dillon Border Shift bag.  Simple, non-specific.  $25 or so.  Loaded moonclips in one side, empties in other.  That's my plan, at least. 

I generally leave the "big" range bag in the truck during match.  If things go sideways and I need the backup gun or to repair something, I can always hoof it to the truck.  

36 minutes ago, woodrow said:

A long time ago a dude came up with an ammo can solution. Its awesome and I want to make one, just havent gotten around to it. Pretty simple construction. 0b4bf248e7991226521c64456e36d31b.jpg471ca98aadfc9a3594e0fa560e7831bc.jpg

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk

I think this is similar to what I had in mind. If I could construct something that would fit in the smaller bag I use for matches that would be ideal. I would just like to upgrade from my plano box.