Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

At What Piont Do 1911's Become "limiting"?

boo radley

I am new to this sport, and have recently started shooting in local, club or range, loosely-scored "Action Pistol" and "IDPA" events, using a stock 1911 Kimber.

In my area, are some more formal sanctioned IPSC and IDPA matches, and I'd like to compete.

I also have a vague craving for another pistol; no real reason except I do, and I wouldn't mind giving the Kimber a rest, or having a back-up. I don't yet reload, but will soon -- this is getting expensive! But someone recently suggested that 1911's were somewhat limiting for IPSC, and I should look into something like the Glock35, for a second pistol.

I'm curious -- does that in fact make sense? It seems to me that both IDPA and IPSC have (and will continue to have) divisions embracing single-stack 1911's, but then again, I don't know much, and could be very wrong. I don't understand the classifications as well as I'd like, though I'm sure I will with experience.

Anyway, if I *were* going to get a second pistol in the < $1k range, would you recommend getting a 2nd 1911 in .45acp and sticking with it? Or moving to something with hi-caps, in .40s&w? Thx!

I high cap .40 double stack 1911 style pistol is the ruleing gun. Glock is good for production, A few have been competitive with them in Limited and L-10 but not alot. Check out the rules and shoot a few matches before you jump in with new gear purchases.

Right now, 1911s would normally compete in Limited-10. No reason for another pistol at all. For clubs I go to 1911's (almost always 45s) are the primary pistol in Limited-10.

The Glock 35 can shoot in a number of Divisions: Production, Limited-10, or Limited - by changing magazines, holster, etc.

Doublestacks - normally compete in Limited. You're not competing with them. They'll normally have faster times, but so what?