Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass shavings on the shell plate

I've been loading for about 2 years now on my xl650. I do only pistol (9mm, 380 acp, 45 acp, 38 spec/357). I use Lee carbide pistol dies with a FCD from Lee. Oh and I use the Lee auto disk for my powder dropper. I guess my question was is the brass shavings normal? The pics are after about a 1000 rounds loaded. I didn't think anything of it really until someone said that the shavings in no way should be there. I typically use once (or more who knows) fired brass from my local range.

post-60287-0-15900600-1432846667_thumb.j

post-60287-0-92050000-1432846677_thumb.j

post-60287-0-74750600-1432846686_thumb.j

Are you using plated bullets? If so, I think opening up the bell would eliminate that. Not sure how to do that on Lee dies since the bell is put on by the powder drop die on the Dillon set. I used to get that and adjusting the bell out got rid of it.

Yeah that happens a little when I uss brand new brass but never had it happen on fired brass. It's an odd one. How much bell are you putting on the case? I'm thinking it may be too much.

Yeah was my thought too so I adjusted the bell down till it was almost shaving the copper plating off the bullets and the brass shavings were still there.

Edited by bfalcon00

Most of my Lee pistol dies would do that. Some worse than others. No amount of adjustment would ever fix it. I ended up switching to Dillon and redding dies. Problem solved. I think its simply a QC issue.

Edited by andre3k

I had the exact same thing with Dillon 550, dies, etc.

Too much bell.

I went from 125's to 147's where i needed to open them up a little more and that's when the shavings popped up. I had to find that sweet spot from too little to too much.

Good luck.

Edited by nwhpfan