Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Remington Versa max or Benelli Super Vinci?

Aimtrue0531

First I am new here and I want to say thanks to everyone in the forum. I have been learning so much from here as I dive into 3 gun as a complete newbie.

That all being said, I have 2 shotguns that I use for duck hunting. One a Remington versamax( in camo) and the other a Benilli Super Vinci (black). I would like to dedicate one for 3 gun but I am not sure which way to go. From what I have read here it seems the Remington would be the least expensive route but the Benelli might be more reliable. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by Aimtrue0531

The Super Vinci may not be reliable with lighter loads (3 dram 1 1/8 oz.). If your Benelli was a regular Vinci not the Super Vinci I would pick it. The Versa max with a modified loading port, tuned shell stop and a magazine extension tube would be the better choice.

VERSAMAX! Have been running mine in 3gun for 2 years now with ZERO issues. I use cheap walmart 7-1/2 shot bird shot and low recoil slugs and have never had a single failure. Ran it bone stock with a mag extention last year then sent it out to have load port work, lifter welded, and the barrel throated for easier loading.

WooHoo another fanboy debate! Both are good choices both have issues.

Remington. Factory QC is a gamble, but they fix them. They are the heavier of the two.

They run lighter loads. They require more work to have ready to play but cost a little less initially.

They may shoot slugs to point of aim, they may not.

Vinci. They are lighter (if that is a factor for you) The run great on 3 dram 1 1/8oz loads,

some run ok with lighter loads but I would not.

They only need a mag tube and an easy home gunsmith port job. The port area is "plastic" and is very easy to tune

with a wood rasp, files and sand paper.

May shoot slugs to point of aim it may not.