Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

END of the STI GM ?

mickd1

Hi all

I've been told the GM will no longer be available soon and that STI will be bringing out a new open gun to replace it,i was also told the new one will be at the gun show soon,any one know more about this?

thanks mick

I also read they are consolidating their product offerings and getting rid of some models, like the Spartan. I read it on the internet so it must be true! :)

SHOT is right around the corner, we'll find out soon enough!

• 2 weeks later...

Who all is getting one?

I got a frame for a new build (still don't know if it'll be an open or limited pistol) but these are very tempting. It would definitely be the open pistol as I like a 6" limited.

I got my brand new Grandmaster day before yesterday. Honestly, I didn't expect it to be as awesome as it is. It looks so plain, and you read 3.5 pound trigger, no fancy ports, you think its not going to be all that great. Dude the gun runs flat.

The slide to frame fit is as tight and smooth as my SVI, which I didn't expect at all. I didn't put it on a scale but the trigger feels like an honest clean 2.5 pounder, even though spec says its 3.5. The travel is short, and clean break with no overtravel. Its good enough I can slap it and not pull shots. The gun literally ran right out of the box, no lube, no running, no nothing, it ran 100 rounds of 38 super comp I had loaded without a single hiccup. Seriously... NO lube, right out of the box.... Came with a factory 25 yard group, all holes touching. The gun was already sighted in. I was thinking man, I'm going to have to get a slide racker on it, change the mount, and do some major updating... Maybe later, the gun runs, and runs good, all that other stuff just kinda seems negligibly important now...