Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

BOSS holster hanger review

ktm300

In one word, WOW!

Now more words.

I have been using a Blade-Tech holster for my 1911 single stack rig for a while. The Blade-Tech is OK but I am on the overweight side and it does sit pretty close. I do have trouble getting the same grip every time. I ordered one of the BOSS holster hangers and put it on my belt last night. OK here is the single word review again, WOW!

It is well within the 2" from the inner belt and sits high enough in the top attachment point to be legal in SS. It is just amazing how much simpler it is to get a good draw from this holster just by spending the $50 to order the hanger. Three reasons, first, it's farther away from my body and I can get a good grip faster and more constantly. Second being able to tweak the angle exactly where I want it. Third, it is stiffer so when I grab it the gun doesn't move.

To adjust it I got the gun out in my normal shooting stance and tweaked the holster so it went in the smoothest without having to look at it.

I have been drawing from the same holster for a few months now and was kind of scared that moving it would hurt my draw. It did not hurt any, it helped a lot. All I have done is dry fire it so far so no real idea of how much better, but it feels faster and more consistent. I will know Friday when I get to do some live fire practice.

I bought the whole boss holster set up and i also like it very much. i was using the double alpha pdr pro before i switched guns and decided to try the boss and wasnt dissapointed. glad it came with the thumb screws too when you buy the whole boss holster

• 2 weeks later...

I don't use mine for 3 gun but I'm sure this would stay put while running around. The connector from the belt to the holster is very secure so it'll stay put. Plus having thumb screws you can wrench down the retention enough that you could do back flips and it wouldn't pop out.

• 2 months later...