Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DQ or no DQ? You make the call

• Replies 148
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I had a very similar thing happen in a 3gun match with an ar. The shooter wanted to ground the rifle in a barrel and finish the pistol part of the stage. I called to stop and clear the rifle. He had an empty case stuck with the next round partially chambered. The shooter was very upset that I stopped him but in my opinion he was not grounding a safe rifle. He took it to the MD and was granted a re shoot.

Gun was grounded as you see it here. I don't care what the rules of any match say. I'm asking what you think or consider a safely grounded pistol.

I'm new to the rules of grounding guns having only recently gotten in to Multigun, so haven't even tried to look it up yet, so when you put it this way, I personally would not consider it an unsafe condition.

Edited by MAC702

Mechanically that gun is safe - completely inert without human intervention to clear it and reload it, but our rules tend to be sweeping and inflexible - I would consider that gun safe but I see why we need clear rules that are in fact arbitrary and in this case wrong. Major matches that is a DQ and local matches some flexibility due to the unusual nature.

I'm going with match dq. I've never agreed with the 30 second penalty for a safety infractions. And I believe in consistency of the rules so it doesn't really matter what I or any one other than the RM/MD thinks as long as the rule is applied consistently for all competitors.

Was it grounded in the appropriate location and manner? If so then my opinion is that it is a procedural offense and not a safety infraction so it should incur a penalty, but no DQ. The gun is certainly not going to fire even if the trigger manipulates it's self like a 14 year old boy. If it was on the ground next to the bucket or pointing at the crowd then DQ, but I am not a cool guy match director, just a regular joe twelve pack.