Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grip tape for Glock, what's best

Blue Jacket

+1 on the skate tape. I cut out a template using cardboard and just trace it when I need a new set. I have been running the same tape for 4 years and it hasnt peeled up yet.

Edited by abn-rgr

I dropped the skate tape in favour of safety tape sold at auto supply stores. in my experience, the safety tape is rougher and so far....seems to last longer.

With skate tape, I had to replace it every year or so due to wear. Jury is still out on the safety tape.

From an auto supply store, the tape is around $40 here, huge roll. Would last forever even if you put it on all your guns.

Edited by Onagoth

Thanks I ordered some black Magic. $7 shipped for a 9 x 30 inch sheet. That should do a few grips and I am not out much if I don't like it

I'll buy it if you don't like it.

Some of the things I do when applying it:

I wipe the area of the grip with clear rubbing alcohol.

Warm the grip with a hair dryer.

Apply tape and really work the edges, sometimes I use a something round (can of One Shot) to roll the edges flat.

IIRC from the latest set of TruGrips I bought, that is the tape he uses. I've patterned some from the backing of older TruGrips and it works ok, just not as precise with the cuts and the like. Put my home-made ones on my SIRT pistol when I got it last year. Works fine.

I use emery powder #80 grit on epoxy adhesive. It lasts almost a lifetime, dont walk w/ hard use, can be retouched and can be chipped off when you dont want it anymore.

All grip tapes I tried walked on me w/ lots of dry firing.

TruGrip or GorillaGrip. I'm willing to pay for something that is already cut to fit and conform.