Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grip Strength training

MattYvip

I've been using Kettlbells for strength training for a long time. I've noticed a big increase in grip strength as well. I've also seen people using those squeeze balls and grip masters. I heard from a pro a while back that if you increase your grip strength by 20% you'll notice a huge difference in recoil management. Anybody else use kettlebells/gripmasters or anything else? Also thoughts on the benifits of improving grip strength as it pertains to shooting?

I started grip training years ago when I used to play guitar. But that was more just to keep finger strength and dexterity.I used the gripmasters but those always seemed too easy. A while back when I started shooting more I figure grip strentgh would help with recoil and I ended up buying a Grip Pro which was more stout than the gripmaster but by no means a challenge. Shortly after that I found the Captains of Crush grippers and those are challengeing to say the least.

I have the Bob Vogel DVD where he talks about his views on grip strenght. He mentions on there that he uses the Captains of Crush.

He has great recoil control so I figured it didn't hurt to work on grip strenght.

Thats an excerpt from the DVD.

• 1 month later...

Has anyone with tendinitis used any of the these methods/tools and noticed a flare-up of said tendinitis? I have used dumbbells in the past but after a short time, it starts to hurt. Or it could just be I'm old. :roflol: My grip strength is pretty good but a little improvement would not hurt anything.

Mods, if this strays to much delete it.

Has anyone with tendinitis used any of the these methods/tools and noticed a flare-up of said tendinitis? I have used dumbbells in the past but after a short time, it starts to hurt. Or it could just be I'm old. :roflol: My grip strength is pretty good but a little improvement would not hurt anything.

Mods, if this strays to much delete it.