Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which open gun for just fun

wiiawiwb

I've been looking to get a 9mm with a compensator and red dot for the sheer fun of it at the range. I'm new to shooting so the notion of a big heavy blaster has me intimidated. I do not reload so factory ammo for now. Maybe I'll love it and start to reload and even go to matches. Conversely, maybe I'll hate the gun so I'd want to be able to sell it and return to my 22s which I do enjoy.

Looking for something that is already built, on the low end of cost, has less recoil and could be sold if I don't like it. The STI MM, SM and Trubor have my attention and I've have been reading about them on this forum.

Any thoughts about these three for just a fun gun? If all three could fit the bill, which would be the most fun given my situation?

Thanks in advance.

If you are using factory ammo in a gun that is set up to run major power factor (much hotter, reloaded 9mm) the factory ammo will not have enough gas to make the comp work properly. Cheapest would be a glock 34 or an M&P pro. You could put a magwell on and add a red dot and be ready to have fun. If you really liked open and wanted a real open gun (you would have to reload, its fun, saves money) You could buy one at that time.

I agree STI SteelMaster. Plus if you decide to go Major later there are many gunsmiths who can help you make the few changes needed to convert it to Major. The SteelMaster is great and if it's just for fun scoring minor is no big deal. Another option is buying ammo from DC ammo then you can buy major ammo and a major gun. If you call Doug and discuss ammo purchasing I think you will find it is competitive prices with ammo from your local shops.

I considered a 5" Trojan but, in the end, knew I would want a compensator and red dot. I figured that I would end up with a hodge-podge if I went that route. It would probably cost as much, if not more, and it would not be a real "unit" like the MM, SM or Trubor.