Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Watching the Front Sight Lift

Wik

I will start this out by saying I am fairly new to USPSA shooting. With the help of the wonderful advice and depth of knowledge of this forum I have excelled from what would likely be a low D shooter to now what would be a mid to high C shooter. I have shot roughly 7 USPSA events so far, all club level with only 3 stages. I am not a current USPSA member, but I've been using classifier calc to calculate my stage percentages, which are normally 45-50%. I've read through a lot of the threads on this forum and try to read all topics started by Mr. Enos himself and they've been a game changer for me. I am 20 years old, have only 3 years of pistol shooting under my belt at about 2,500 rounds per year.

Now I would like to consult the breadth of knowledge on this site with an issue I've been having lately. I've been working hard to call my shots. I've done unaimed firing into the berm to track my front sight, but I just cannot follow it. When the gun recoils the gun seems to lift up slightly and blocks my vision of the front sight. I know this is 100% shooter technique and not an equipment issue, but for reference I am using a Glock 34 with a fiber optic front sight, grip tape grips, and 142 PF factory ammunition (American Eagle 124 gr @ ~1150 fps). I want to be able to master sight tracking with factory loads before I go to lighter recoiling rounds so I will be well versed in it when I go to 130 pf.