Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

George Jones

Classifieds
  • Content Count

    769
  • Joined

  • Last visited

2 Followers

About George Jones

  • Rank
    Calls Shots

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://
  • ICQ
    0

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Ramsey, NJ
  • Real Name
    George Jones

Recent Profile Visitors

1,482 profile views
  1. On the other hand..... Politely and calmly asking for the rule which supports the (alleged) incorrect call is not being a dick. The less than knowledgeable RO will never learn otherwise and continue making the same error. Part of being a certified RO is to pass on the knowledge.
  2. All of this falls under the responsibilities of the individual acting as the Range Master - at all levels. That, IMO, is where the solutions begin.
  3. George Jones

    What if timer doesn't pick up all shots fired?

    It's called a "timer", not a "shot counter". Last shot is the most important. Best effort should be made to get all shots in case of a violation/malfunction/squib situation. Split times may be useful in subtracting an invalid recording of an ejected brass (poor RO technique involved here) because it is still a time value. Basic split time values (based on my personal experience): FAST double tap - between 0.10 to 0.12 Gun that doubles - 0.05 to 0.07 Echo - 0.01 to 0.02 depending on conditions Shot count is irrelevant.
  4. George Jones

    Can NROI amend a rule?

    There is a process. Rulings are reviewed by the BOD. They may void it or approve it. If they take no action after five days (IIRC) it is automatically approved. The 2019 version of the rulebook will be evergreen, meaning that any future rulings or interpretations will be included in the on-line (downloadable) rulebook.
  5. George Jones

    Miss or equipment failure

    Maybe..... From the draft 2019 rulebook: 9.1.7 Target sticks are neither Hard Cover nor Soft Cover. Shots which have passed wholly or partially through target sticks and or barrier supports, and which hit a paper or metal target will count for score or penalty, as the case may be.
  6. George Jones

    angled shots

    This person may be a dinosaur. ? Many (18-20?) years ago there was a rule that a hole twice the diameter of the overlay caliber would not count. Those overlays had a secondary concentric partial arc indicating twice the diameter at each caliber. I believe (although I'm not certain) that it was mostly intended for turning targets. That rule was changed many years ago when it was decided that an angled shot was no less accurate/effective than a straight on shot.
  7. George Jones

    Forcing you to stay inside FFZ

    If this was indeed a Section match, it could not be run under Level I rules (see App A1). Even Level I rules do not allow for such a restriction. Was there an assigned Range Master whose job it is to run the match in accordance with the rules?
  8. George Jones

    What if timer doesn't pick up all shots fired?

    It's called a timer, not a shot counter. The only one that matters is the last one. However, we don't know when the last shot might happen, so it's important to try to get them all. Experienced ROs adjust the timer position to account for those situations which might result in a missed shot.
  9. George Jones

    Pregame squib

    It's not against the rules. The potential for a safety violation during that entertaining process possibly increases a bit. I do have to wonder if all that pre-planning energy might not be better directed elsewhere.
  10. George Jones

    Pregame squib

    No per 5.7.4 and 5.7.6
  11. George Jones

    Re-Holstering during a Stage.

    If it has a hammer and it is cocked, you MUST have the safety ON, otherwise: DQ! If it's hammer down, no safety is required. Decocking is certainly acceptable if the gun is capable.
  12. George Jones

    FTE / FTSA question

    Did you send that "CRO" a link to this thread? ?
  13. George Jones

    FTE / FTSA question

    "Shot" is defined in App A3. Rule 5.2.7 says "fails to shoot at". Most of us would say "shooting" requires a shot. Based on the A3 definition, no shot was fired. Hmmm...….
  14. George Jones

    Dry Firing During Make Ready - DQ?

    After the "Make Ready" command, the shooter is allowed the load the firearm. Anything he does after that point which is not specifically prohibited or covered under a DQ rule is OK. Trying to shoehorn a violation under "loading" is not correct.
  15. George Jones

    Dry Firing During Make Ready - DQ?

    In USPSA, sight pictures are allowed. There is no restriction on loaded sight pictures which I suspect are commonly done on a target you're about to engage after the Beep! The only restriction is the "no more than one step rule". 8.7.1 The act of loading, etc. is irrelevant since a sight picture is not taken during the actual loading of the firearm. The loading action is already complete. No ruling is required since this has been commonly known for quite a number of years and there is no rule which prevents it anyway. Anyone who does this with a loaded magazine in the gun is not violating a rule. Taking a bit of a chance of a brain meltdown? Perhaps, but not illegal.
×