Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Barsto or CA STI?

818-DVC

Hi, I am new to USPSA and I have been shooting single stack with a para and prod./L-10 with my glock 34. I recently shot an STI limited gun and now I really want one. They are a cut above. Being a californian, I am limited to what I can obtain due to the Laws and STI's stance on not retailing in CA. I have seen a few Barsto's at some matches, and heard they are the same as STI for the most part. Looks like an Edge to me. Aside from the barrel, are there any real differences between a barsto and an STI? I know that I will have to send a barsto out for some tuning to run 100%, and I want an STI that has already been put through its paces and is race ready. The Problem obviously being that used CA. STI guns are sold at a premium. I am patient, but I am curious to what more experienced shooters would do in this situation. Do I just buy the new barsto and have a smith tune it for me, or do I buy a used Barsto that is already tuned, or a used STI for big dollars and wait for the right gun to come along? What would you do? I will continue to shoot my current setups, but after shooting a polymer/ alloy framed gun that has been worked over nicely, it is not near as fun shooting my guns anymore. I will not pay the premium of a CA SV. I simply cannot afford a $3500 gun. $2k is really pushing it for me. Any other suggestions?

Hi Jacob,

Welcome to the forum. The problem with used fat guns in CA is that people do not have to advertise them when they want to get rid of them. Leave word at gunsmiths and matches what you are looking for. In a while you will be able to post a classified here also. Or you could just buy a BarSto and tune it.

Later,

Chuck