Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My new 1050 and me :-)

I would like to share my experience and thoughts here, as well as posting a few questions.

I am new to realoading. As a keen IPSC shooter (~20.000 rounds/year) I was looking for an alternative for factory ammo, ending up considering reloading.

I was able to use a colleague's 650 twice, loading 2000 rounds. Apart from this I had no experience.

I wanted a press which is reasonably fast to operate, as I would like to minimize my time for reloading. Initially I considered a 650, too. Then I experienced some major troubles with certain brands of cases, crushing primers. It was a pain in the ... (see here http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?...c=81161&hl= for details). After this I was sort of reluctant to buying a 650.

I decided to go for a 1050, ignoring the recommendation, not to buy a 1050 as one's first machine. (Sorry Brian ,-)

I did the set up yesterday and I did it from scratch, setting all dies myself, as dillon's claim, the machine comes from the factory ready to load does not hold true at all! (At least in my case.) Belling was way too much, bullets were seated way too far into the case, etc. etc.

I think, if one has some common sense and a certain interest in technical stuff (which holds true in my case) it's possible to set up and operate a 1050, even if it is one's first machine. Maybe disassembling and maintenance might pose a problem somewhere in the future. I can't tell now.

Certain things even seem to be easier than on the 650. I think, as the toolhead of the 1050 is larger, it's easier to cure a jam or malfuncion. I think it is easier to keep an eye on all processing steps of the press at the same time with the 1050. Finished rounds are ejected frontside to the left, in close vicinity to the bullet seating, whereas the 650 ejects to the rear/right.