Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock 34... or 19?

surfdog

Newbie here... All excited about getting to USPSA shooting. After handling many, and shooting a Glock 17,

I narrowed my choice down to a Glock 34.

I'm now considering getting a CCW. That has me questioning the G34 and looking at a G19.

Short of getting both.... How much of a handicap will a G19 be, compared to a G34, in USPSA Production competition?

TIA!

I'd say the 19. You CAN carry a 17 or 34...but after a bit you won't. It is literally a pain in the butt. I carry a 23 (same size as the 19) everyday. The 19 is a good carry size and will do you just fine in production.

You shot the one you should consider most. The G17.

The G34 is outstanding for practical shooting. That is what it was designed to do.

The G19 is outstanding for CCW. That is what it was designed to do.

Ultimately it's a personnel choice.

Jim

Edited by JimmyM

I shot a Glock 34 in competition, and carried it concealed almost every day, for about four years. It's not as hard to do as some folks would have you believe. I have also carried, and shot in competition, a Glock 19. There's no doubt the 34 is easier to shoot. Having said all that, if you want the best of both worlds, I think I'll echo JimmyM and say: split the difference and go for a Glock 17. I've shot Master scores on the IDPA classifier with both the 34 and 17. You're giving up very little if anything in shootability by choosing the 17 instead of the 34, but you wind up with a gun considerably easier to shoot fast and well than a 19. My $.02. :)

I agree with taco101...Go with the 19. You might want to look into IDPA as and additional way to shoot/practice/have fun as it is more CCW oriented. The 19 will work there also. Later on, if you want, you can invest in a 34 for USPSA and IDPA. Then use the 19 once in a while in competition.

JMHO

Richard

A good compromise is a G17. If you can conceal it comfortably go for it. It shoots about as well as the G34 IMO.