Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bondo experts please read

I recently laid down my bike and as a result I have a dent in my tank. it's about 1.5 inches wide and 4 inckes long, something like .75 to 1.25 inches deep. the dent is along a complex curve of the tank.

Now I want to repair it, and thought that bondo filler would be the best option, but I have no experience with it. as I understand it you sand the area to be repaired doen to bare metal, clean it throughly then apply bondo and sand smoth and then paint. The filler is the consistance of penut butter? or more like paydogh.

is there any more to it than that or are there any pitfalls I need to be aware of before I start. I don't want to get half way through and realise I should have done something differant and then have to start over heh.

Thanks

Tony

Hi

I hate to bondo....

expect to do two layers

sand the area with rough sandpaper like 60 grit

fill the area

wait about an hour and rough shape with a surform (looks like a cheese grater)

look over your work.

then If you are like me, sand it and paint it

and then see the flaws and lumps.

sand the paint down, and add more bondo, and sand and paint.

I have never done the last step more than once.

good paint work is harder to do than the bondo.

miranda

To whatever extent you can, get the metal back out close to its original shape, first. Bondo is good for making things smooth. However, Bondo doesn't like to be too thick - if it is laid on more than 1/4" thick or so, you run the risk of it cracking (it expands and contracts with temperature, but at a different rate than the underlying metal, so... if it is too thick it can't flex enough, and will separate)