Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Yet another ammo price complaint

Ben Stoeger

The new price for 1000 rds of blazer 9mm is $165 (this is expected to rise soon).

Last year at this time I was at $125 a case.

In order for me to get enough practice ammo, I decided to take a premature distribution from my IRA I have been saving since I was 14 years old (I am 23 now). What strikes me as odd about this is I am sure I am doing the right thing, I just never thought I would come to raiding my retirement fund to afford a few extra cases of ammo.

I can't wait to get done with school and get a real job, so I can make enough money to shoot.

I have no idea how the forum members with kids can even afford to shoot!

Laters,

Ben

Dang Ben- maybe you should reload? Better than cashing in the retirement! :blink: I just got a Marvel .22 unit to help cut the costs, but I will still practice at least once a week with full power loads. I thought the Airsoft would be the way to go- but don't think it will hold up to the 1800+ rounds a week practice I am planning. Three kids and a wife definitely make it tough- but they're worth it though! :)

I don't see how people can even afford to shoot anymore period. My last match was the Natl's last year and will never shoot outside of my home club again, I just refuse to pay upwards of $1000 just to go to an Area or Nationals. So I guess I finally woke up and realized the cost-to-benefit was too outta whack ;)

I don't shoot outside of club matches, and haven't in the past. Ammo and time are both too precious to spend. The hard part for me is that I am at or very near the level that my natural ability can provide, to get past this level I need to practice and I am not willing to do it due to the other sacrifices I would have to make to accommodate the practice.