Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Penalty free

Catfish

This past weekend, I shot the first penalty free match (USPSA) that I've shot probably since I started shooting USPSA a couple of years ago.

This really got me thinking.

Does this really matter, and is a penalty free match a worthy goal? I'm not saying I go into any match looking to toss mikes, shoot no shoots and step over fault lines. Not part of the game plan, and never has been. I want to shoot each match, each stage, and each shot as cleanly as I can.

I looked up the top 16 in this year's Limited nats. Not one of those 16 guys shot penalty free. Some of them had more penalties in that match than I've shot in the last 6 months.

Here's my concern. If a penalty free match is a worthy match goal for every match (and yes, I set goals for every match and every stage), then what happens to your conscious and subconscious mind when you toss a mike? Do you throw in the towel because you've just toasted one of your goals for the day?

I say this because when I went into the last stage at Sunday's match, I actually puckered up a little because I knew I had a penalty free match going. Stage 7 (that I designed) was a little one I called Black and White. Each target was either covered with hard cover, or a no shoot so that the only thing left to shoot was the lower A zone. I had a thought running through my mind that I could sure toss my penalty free match to hell in a hurry on this booger! I sucked it up and got my chi going and shot penalty free, but I really don't feel like I attacked that stage, more like I survived it.

So, is a penalty free match a worthy (and achievable) goal or does that slow you down and make you too conservative? Since I just got my M card, I know I'm going to have to start being more aggressive at times and is the occasional mike just the cost of doing business and being an aggressive, attacking shooter?