Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Wow Pressure Is On Since I Got The M Card!

since i hit 85.98% and really work hard last year.(shot 26 classifiers) i got my Master card in open, the last 2 weeks..pressure was on to me soo much that I shot poorly. now i wish i should have stayed in high A class. and take my skills naturally and not to push myself too hard. I feel so ashamed and really feel down everytime i shoot...I crashed and shot 68% and 71% in the last 2 weeks? Im even thinkin of quiting shooting for a while since this happened. it really sucks. any thoughts or words of suggestions would be appreciated!!

Benos gave me something to think about! thanks Brian, but he suggest to get more feedback from you guys..

When I first started USPSA I treated classifiers like a huge postal match and I busted my ass to develop some pretty decent "clasifier skills", static shooting, reloads, the draw... In retrospect, what a waste of time. Six years or more of ego stroking only to reach a point where I can physically no longer maintain status quo. The card in your wallet doesn't mean squat when the buzzer goes off.

Couldnt have said it better myself, Ron. :)

Ed,

You are a great shooter, don't quit! But let's look at what you have done. You shot 26 classifiers last year. You were able to blow 76.9% of them and still get >85% ! Now that would work for classifiers but not real well for matches! I think you need to get things evened out a bit.

See ya at Norco Saturday...

"Pressure is what you feel when you don't know what you're doing." - Chuck Knoll (Coach of 4-Super Bowl winning NFL Teams)

I heard this the other day and it's perfectly appropriate for our sport. If we prepare and just do what we're capable of doing, everything else is unimportant. Relax, shoot your game and the speed/skill that got you to 85% will come out and mature.

Rich

we all fall into that trap..