Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1500fps 124gr 9mm major 186PF Jeez!

bootcamp

Hey all,

I'm new to 9mm major open but I have been reloading for over 10 years so I know all about load development and working up a load but I think my judgement was clouded on my recent 9 major gun purchase.  I bought the custom built gun from a guy who had it built from a local gunsmith and it was the previous owners backup gun and had no more than a dozen rounds through it.  I could tell due to the lack of wear marks on the barrel.  I spoke to both the owner and gunsmith in depth prior to purchase and both of them said the pistol needs to be broken in with hot ammo.  7.2 wac behind a 124gr pd jhp at 1.160 oal.  Previous owner said here i'll even give you some ammo.  He is in his 70's and retiring from open.  I pulled several and weighed the powder charges before taking a chance on them.

First outing shot about 50 rounds through it.  Indoor range and I couldn't setup chrono.  I was focused on function and accuracy and it's super accurate but I thought to myself, these rounds feel hot for sure.  Figured I'd stop here and bring the chrono out next time and maybe build up some lower ammo and do it the right way.  Inspected about a 10 brass cases I didn't see any pressure signs or flattened primers.

So built up some 6.8 & 7.0 with the same 124gr pd jhp and 1.160 length.  Setup the chrono.

6.8 results: 1371, 1358, 1370, 1380, 1367, 1374, 1354  All test rounds resulted in  power factor of 167 to 171.  No cracked cases or flattened primers

7.0 results: 1364, 1399, 1375, 1369, 1400, 1397 All test rounds resulted in power factor of 169 to 173.6.  No cracked cases or flattened primers