Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Competitive Gun Cleaning...

Cjblackmon

I was at an IPSC Match last night and I stumbled onto a conversation about gun cleaning. One guy had mentioned that he cleaned his weapon every 1000 to maybe 2000 rounds at a time. I'm talking about not doing anything, not even a boresnake!

After hearing this I asked a few other people about it and they pretty much all said the same thing, "as much as I shoot, I can't keep up with cleaning the gun after every match and the 1911 can go without cleaning for a 1000 to 2000 rounds". A few guys I spoke with said they wouldn't even clean their guns before a match if they were around 500 rounds into the last cleaning.

I've been shooting competitively for about six months now, I find this odd. I'm asking this question at the expense of my sounding ignorant either way, but I want to know if any other competitors practice the same thing.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'll do a full, take the gun totally apart and clean everything, one match before going "on the road". That way I'll have about 200 rounds downrange before leaving, thus proving that everything is in working order. It also allows me some lead time if I find a problem with a part.

Other than that, I follow Will Schuemanns advice about not cleaning your barrel. Then, basically, I just do a quick field strip and wipe off the rails and relube before each match.

That's my cleaning plan. YMMV.

Ray

I clean my 2011 at about 500 rounds. My pistol has rails from Acc-u-rail. This make the slide to frame fit very tight. The barrel lockup is also tight. I can feel the slide slow down after about 500 rounds.

I have a 1911 in 45 that might get cleaned after about 1000 rounds. My carry guns are usually spotless.