Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How deep to seat bullet

Poconojoe

Forgive me if I don't know the proper terminology. 

9mm, 124 grain, Berry's Hollow base, flat point, thick plate (HBFP-TP).

This is a plated bullet. It does not have any lube grooves.

I'm wondering what a safe seating depth would be. I want to make sure I seat the bullet deep enough. 

I did the plunk test with my barrel and it's plenty fine even with very little of the bullet seated into the case. It definitely needs to be seated deeper. Anyone know what an acceptable depth would be? 

I want it deep enough, but not too deep where it builds too much pressure. 

Thanks,

Joe

I'm no expert, but I do four things (not in order).

First, I use a 9mm case gauge, as those are much more strict than many barrels.

Second, I do check the seating on each of the firearms that I use.

Third, I look at the bullet manufacture's recommendations for OAL and I check cartridges with calipers to confirm. IF you don't have manufacturer info, there are several reloading books that will have info on OAL for several bullet shapes to help some.

Fourth, I chrono the cartridges, using the firearm that it will be used in.

Hopefully you are using manufacturer's info or data books for the powder you are using to make sure that you are not exceeding recommended load. You should be building up samples starting with the minimum powder load, up to the maximum load, and then testing them with a chrono to make sure you are getting desired power factor and accuracy.

There's no lube or grooves involved with 9mm bullets, and not a lot of crimping either.

12 minutes ago, Guy Neill said:

You might look at an OAL of about 1.135". Vary from there as you see a need. 

The round nose lead cast I have seem to be good at around what you suggest. I have them at 1.133. 

These plated ones (124 grain HBFP-TP) are flat point, so I think it needs to be shorter. I figured around 1.083. Does that sound good?

Thanks for the responses.