Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

145 vs 160 GR bullets in a 929

jeremy kemlo

What is the difference shooting 145 Gr bullets vs 160 at 125-130 power factor out of a 929. My press is set up to do 145 for my semi auto so I could just adjust the powder amount. Unless there is an advantage to the 160. 

In my 627 I shoot Starline Brass 38 Colt Shorts and Montana Gold 130 gr RN with 4.6 gr Universal Clay's at 1.100" Federal primers at 1050 fps.

I tried heavier bullets, 147 & 160 gr but found the lighter bullet had less recoil and muzzle flip. Also the accuracy with the lighter bullets was a bit better.

Edited by Bill Sahlberg
Missed cartridge info

I am new to the 929 and havent had near the problems I have seen talked about the 929 .  My gun was new this spring so maybe S&W has fixed things...
BAsics from what I have heard on many threads here. 
Some people bullet creep issues  and want longer bearing surface although physics says a heavier bullet would make things worse with a tapered case.
Think alot of people moved over from 627's and were getting round nose 357/358's and kept them due to the suppossed  357 sized barrel on the 929.
I am fixing to do some accuracy tests on a 929 with factory 115, 147's and 124 gr .356 fmj;s see what happens.
Honestly I cant see recoil in mousefart loads being an issue in a gun as heavy as a  929

The main issue is overall length.  A 160 may load deep enough in the case to bulge the case at the base of the bullet at a short length.

Load a few and check to see.  If they don't chamber you will have to go longer on oal.

If they work, load 100 to chrono and sight in.

Then use your cylinder or a moon clip checker to test all loaded clips.  Or a cartridge checker to check all rounds.  If they fit you're ok.

6 hours ago, Joe4d said:

Think alot of people moved over from 627's and were getting round nose 357/358's and kept them due to the suppossed  357 sized barrel on the 929.