Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is there a bigger/better dry tumbler than the large Dillon tumbler?

Cuz

I've been using the Dillon large size tumbler for many years, but was thinking of adding a second one to clean/polish brass in less time.  I figure I'll keep one for cleaning and the new one for polishing and removing any case lube afterwards.

Before I buy another Dillon, I was just wondering if there are any others out there that have the same or larger capacity.

Thanks,

-Cuz

Damn, that's even cheaper than the Dillon.  I like it!  I wonder if it would do as good a job since it rotates rather than vibrating.

Anyone have any experience using something like that to clean brass?

47 minutes ago, Cuz said:

Damn, that's even cheaper than the Dillon.  I like it!  I wonder if it would do as good a job since it rotates rather than vibrating.

Anyone have any experience using something like that to clean brass?

And there are 10% off coupons . Also if you ever wish to try wet cleaning you are good to go. I still prefer dry. Its a lot less work.

Edited by AHI

I use a cement mixer with a polymer drum. I put cut up conveyor belts over the metal agitators in the drum. I can do a full bucket at a time if needed. I only use it for wet tumbling. I never tried dry tumbling with it.That is one extreme though. I know harbor freight sells a big vibratory tumber. A good friend has used it for years with no issues.

https://www.harborfreight.com/18-lb-vibratory-bowl-with-liquid-drain-hose-96923.html

+1 on the cement mixer here. When I had the idea of a concrete project I picked up a poly barrel Kobalt from BLowes. While preparing the yard for concrete, I'd run batches with 5 gal pails of brass in the mixer. Was awesome!

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

If I were to do it again, I'd go the cement mixer route instead of a FART. It's not that the FART can't clean a lot of brass, I just did a 5 gallon bucket and it took quite a few batches.