Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2011 40 cal mags

22h2

Thanks for the replies, I’m new to the 2011’s I have been reading that the mbx work flawlessly and the gram guts will correct sti issues. I have never really experienced many mag issues with any guns over the years, but it looks like the 2011 could be picky. 

I'd go with MBX in 40.  Gen 1 STI mags still have weak feed lips and require retuning after you drop them a bunch.  My MBX mags went three years of matches and never required retuning.  Shooters Connection is the place to buy MBX mags.  After you get 50 posts, email them you are a Benos forum member and you will get 5% off most things.

thanks for the info, I was wondering what the difference in gen 1 vs gen 2, that makes sense, and the tuning makes sense for mags with heavy use and dropping them.  MBX seems to be the most popular without a doubt,  do most use mags that lock the slide back or do they use comp mags?  I have never liked mags that didnt lock the slide back but planned reloads it wouldnt make a lot of difference. 

4 hours ago, 22h2 said:

50 post for 5% i need to start talking more lol 

Not all parts get the 5% discount.  MBX 2011 mags are one of the ones that don't, at least as of today.

Edited by muncie21

I have been running Gen 2 STI mags. Dawson has been the best pricing I can find now. TTI base places and Grams springs and followers.

If you wait for a TTI sale, you can get the whole set up for about $105 each. Slightly cheaper than MBX and I can get 20 reloadable.

On 8/8/2020 at 12:21 PM, 22h2 said:

thanks for the info, I was wondering what the difference in gen 1 vs gen 2, that makes sense, and the tuning makes sense for mags with heavy use and dropping them.  MBX seems to be the most popular without a doubt,  do most use mags that lock the slide back or do they use comp mags?  I have never liked mags that didnt lock the slide back but planned reloads it wouldnt make a lot of difference.