Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load Data for Xtreme 124 gr RN

Santini

I'm relatively new at this, having loaded about 6,000 rounds so far on my 650. I have some Xtreme 124 gr RN and can't find load data from Hodgdon. Except for one load of 124 gr lead RN, all the data is for BERB 124 gr HPCB TP. I know what bullet that is, but my question for the experts--why nothing for Xtreme?

Any assistance or methodology for research would be appreciated.

Edited by Santini

They don't list loads for every bullet ever made. Plated bullets tend to be more like lead bullet loads instead of jacketed loads so start with lead load data and work up a load. 

Ok, first of all xtreme bullets aren't listed in any load data books by name. Xtreme says to use lead bullet data for a starting point. I found one load for 124 gr lead round nose on Hodgdon's website. 

Keep in mind that neither of the powder manufacturers sell bullets. And the other data from the other manufacturers are written by bullet companies and Xtream hasn't published one. Also do a search on the forum for load data by bullet weight for more information. 

What powder are you planning to use, specifically?

Find data for your preferred powder: you'll wind up somewhere around the midrange for lead, and down closer to the minimum for FMJs.

Thats usually roughly what happens.

Edited by MemphisMechanic

I realize that load data is not published for every bullet made, and I also realize that, for plated bullets, generally you can use the equivalent lead bullet data. Hodgdon publishes only one load for a 124gr lead bullet, using WSF.  I have Titegroup and HP-38, and I would like to avoid buying another powder.  

Can I use the load data for a BERB HBRN TP 124 gr? Hodgdon publishes load data for that bullet with Titegroup. How is that bullet different from the Xtreme 124gr?

Thanks for all the replies so far.

Edited by Santini