Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why Did You Start Shooting Competively?

Everyone has different reasons. What are yours?

The shooters that I learned from started in the military and/or where in law enforcement. And it seems that many forum members are in the same group.

And it might be interesting to hear some stories.

I started shooting competitively in my twenties when I thought about persuing a LE career. A friend mentioned that most LE types do the bear minimum just to qualify and I did not want to be one of those.

It seemed that something other than standing at the table just banging away was a better route. At a local range, a group shot a PPC league on Sundays. A non-sanctioned league since most league members were civilians but it was fun and exposed me to timed fire and drawing. I got pretty good and started winning.

I was perfectly happy until a guy asked me why I shot PPC if I couldn't get classified or go to a national championship and test myself against the best. That struck a cord and I started Bullseye, Highpower, NRA AP, and IPSC shooting over the years.

I haven't looked back since.

I started shooting competitively a few years after giving up motorcycle racing as a hobby and finding myself bored. Made a new friend that was doing it and after trying it on his prompting, found it provided what I had been looking for.

It fit the bill prefectly because it made loud noise, cost too much, had a small amount of risk mixed with the resultant adrenaline and involved technology that I could manipulate to my own ends.

--

Regards,

I started shooting USPSA because a friend took me to a match. WOW! What a blast. I've always liked handguns and got such a rush from a field course that I spent 5 grand the next month on a open gun and loader. Never regreted it.