Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Acquiring the sights after draw

fireman1776

I hope this is the right spot for this. I shot my first competition last week and have been analyzing major areas I can improve. I'm really slow on the draw, specifically acquiring the sights. I see people that fire as soon as they're fully extended. I've been trying to focus on acquiring them quicker and I realize it's gonna take practice, lots of it. Does anyone have any tips as far as when the gun should be at eye level and how to pick up the sights while I'm extending and not after I extend. It takes me probably .5-1 second to acquire. Thanks for the help I'm just a amateur looking for help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My tip is to practice. Before long you will find that sights starts to magically appear where you are looking. That is helpful.

When I first started practicing, I was flinging the gun out as fast as possible to try to beat the par time. That is not conducive to picking up the sights early. Now I try to slow down that last part of the presentation so I can start seeing and verifying sight alignment so as to be able to shoot earlier.

I think it's two things.

1. When you draw, draw the pistol up and press out. This brings the pistol in a position for your eyes to acquire the front sight early and by the time you've fully pressed the pistol out, you should be ready to fire.

2. Muscle memory. Constant training so that you've developed the muscle memory for your pistol to be pointed at your target naturally.

I think the combination of these two are why the fast and accurate shooters are so fast and accurate.