Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Senior (55+) Beginners

GunBugBit

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started competing & picked up a gun for the first time at age 52 so I think that counts ...

my thoughts are simple .... if only I had started when I was 22 instead of 52 ...... :)

Edited by Nimitz

I didn't get into the sport till age 53, didn't shoot my first major event till this year @ 55. I just recently reached "B" Class in revolver and feel I'm still improving. I'm certainly not as fast as I used to be, but I have learned to be very efficiant..........

I started shooting competitions at about 52. I'll never be able to compete with the young guys, or even the older ones that have been doing it for years. I shoot for enjoyment and to be around like minded people. I was in law enforcement and didn't have the time or money to compete. In law enforcement, they teach you how to qualify, not how to shoot.

I shot my first ever match at the age of 55 after being persuaded by my then 12 year old step son. I was immediately hooked. I'll be 59 in two weeks and a fairly decent A Class Open shooter. Still improving and still loving the heck out of the sport. We attend a USPSA match every weekend. I doubt I'll ever make Master but I'm going to keep trying. My now 16 year old step son is a Open GM and will be shooting on the Super Squad at Nationals this year. This will be our 3rd Nationals. I would have loved to have started at least 30 years ago but to those thinking they are too old, it's never too late to start.

Started at 52. I'll be (cough) 60 in two weeks. Having not started at 20 something I have no actual comparison but I think it is the same with the added option of using the "I'm an old guy" line. We all want to be better than we are, generally make the same mistakes, get the same rude awakenings, learn what actually improves our game, etc., etc.....