Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Choosing a gun and division

StraightSh00ter

Sorry this is a little long. I'm pretty new at all this and just got my first gun. For some reason (aesthetics) I went with a 1911 over a CZ even though I love shooting one. I shot my first match this past weekend and had a blast, but got annoyed with the ergonomics of the 1911. The few things I already want to change are almost equivalent to the cost of a CZ. So I'm glued to the computer looking at guns again, and feel like I should just buy one and keep whatever I like better (maybe even both if that made sense).

So I'm trying to decide between 75SA and 75 Shadow (I know about SP01 and TS but really like the 75s), and which class to shoot in. I feel like Limited is not for starting out but that's where the guns I like the best fit. Production seems like the place to start but I would rather not manually decock and start every stage DA. The reloading strategy is fun, but the reloads yesterday were getting annoying at times. For the time being my goal is to have fun shooting and to learn. I don't expect to be competitive any time soon, but I did find myself looking at and comparing my scores and times. And I am fine shooting minor power factor wherever I end up.

The Shadow has flexibility of DA/SA, SA only, or converting from DA/SA to SA. That and the trigger work (and maybe barrel if it's better) are all that I really see being worth extra money, unless I'm missing something? The 75SA is cheaper, even with a trigger job, but would prohibit me from shooting Production and I don't know what else.

I seem to be driving myself nuts over this, so thanks for reading and any thoughts/comments :)

the Shadow DA/SA trigger is so nice most people including me can get used to the DA/SA transition just fine.

IF you want to shoot a Shadow as though it were SA only just cock the hammer, put the safety on "safe" , then draw, sweep the safety "off" and shoot like you would if it were SA only.

Eric