Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load data to make power factor 38 special

Glock34Guy83

I'm steadily getting more and more into shooting my 4 inch 627 pro series. I have 3 choices of powder to use and they are VV N320, Bullseye and Win231. I currently have 158 grain round nose flat points from Xtreme. I am going to be switch to 160 grain RN from bayou or black bullets.

So my question is,

Does anyone have a good load with any of those powders to make power factor and would you mind sharing it?

What powder and how many grains?

What length are you seating too?

I figured I would post here instead of the general reloading section because this is for a revolver.

Thanks for your help.

I just bought a 627 pro. It is a very good revolver. I have some experience with

a 4 inch model 66. I have yet to chrono my normal loads in the pro.

Bullseye is the best powder I have found for 38 special.

WST is a good powder for a very specialized load.

i use a Lee mold 150 round nose with 4 grains of bullseye crimped into the crimp groove of the bullet

in 158 weight berry's bullet 3.8 grains of bullseye with a taper crimp.

I just bought a Lyman mold 160 round nose with a crimp groove.

I am hoping for some good accuracy with it.

Bullseye is the powder I have the least of but I'll give it a shot. I loaded up about 50 rounds tonight with 4.0 grains of Win 231 with an OAL of 1.445. According to the reloading book that I have on hand it should roughly put me around a 130 power factor. I had some loads that had 3.7 grains of win 231 and I was only getting around a 102 power factor. I think I was not crimping enough. I increase my crimp and upped my powder charge and I will chrono these new loads this coming weekend.