Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do you avoid burnout?

JPG

I have been competing for about 3 years, and only began taking things 'seriously' this past year. My definition of 'serious' means that I've set a goal of being a GM - other people have their own definitions of 'serious,' but this is mine.

After setting this goal, I began training - both dry fire (daily) and live fire (usually 2-3x month plus matches).

I don't think I'm burned out with training yet, but I feel like I'm close . For example, I spent the past two weeks hammering the dry fire drills in preparation for a local club's 8-stage outlaw match ($45 for 8 stages - hell of a deal IMO). I get to the match today, and as I'm unloading my gear into the cart, and I feel like I don't want to shoot the match. So, I just RO-ed the match and didn't fire a single shot (fortunately, the match is over two days, so I can shoot it tomorrow if I want).

Many of you have set similar goals for yourselves and have reached them, i.e., win my club match, win a LV 2, become A/M/GM, etc. My questions: How do you find balance? How do you continue to have fun while being 'serious' about shooting?

There are a number of posts that talk about what to do 'after' you're burned out. How do you prevent from getting burned out?

Thanks in advance folks!

I always change divisions when I get bored... something to mix it up... I am normally an open shooter but I just spent 6 months shooting single stack. Find something to keep it fresh.

Edited by caspian guy

I'm trying to fight the same problem. I have to find something pure fun to keep me interested.

Try taking the wife to the range. Take the kid down the street. Shoot a couple of fun club matches where no one knows your name, at games that aren't even your normal games. I've been catching .22 falling plate matches, and bullseye. Believe it or not, it's working.

Pretty sure even the top guys get burned out, they've just figured out how to manage it.