Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Difference in Major vs. Minor

bierman

I've been shooting USPSA, off and on, since 2005. Almost all of it has been in Production, shooting Minor pf ammo. Shot my second match in Revolver using Major pf ammo yesterday. Had a ton of fun, did not do as well has hoped, but both my hands feel like someone whacked all my knuckles with a sledgehammer today. Never experienced that with the Production rig. Major pf 45 acp out of a wheelgun is a whole different animal. Gonna require a period of adjustment, I think.

Shooting a wheel gun is a differnet animal. I never could shoot a revolver well, but then I never really wanted to. But yes you will probably need some time to adjust. It took me 3 club matches to get used to my STI tactical from my glock 35.

Edited by Ash1012

Nearly everyone who's serious about shooting revolver uses nice soft hand loads in the <175 PF range. I shot around 500 rounds of factory .45 (>200 PF) in my 625 at a class and it sucked. A lot.

The standard 230 gr RN with Clays powder gives a nice firm push and is pleasant to shoot all day.

I agree with jester. 3.9 grains of clays over a 230 gr round nose makes major for me with ease (172pf) and people joke all the time with me about squibs. I chrono'ed Winchester white box thru my gun and was hitting 192pf.

My wife shoots a 625 also and shoots our loads all day long. Factory ammo is way too hot and yes, unpleasant for a big match.

Yeah that's likely too much. With a 4" barrel 625 I was hitting 178 last year with 4.1 grains, 230 gr plated, I've backed it down down to 3.8 but haven't chrono'ed it yet. I think it will do just fine. I remember someone in the reloading forum saying that Clays is spiky, i.e. it gets real hot real fast as you go above 4 grains.

If you can't see your 230 gr bullet flying through the air, it's going too fast. :roflol: