Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1050 - Do I Need One?

So I put a pistol up for sale/trade with one of the trade options being a Dillon 1050. I got an offer of a new 1050 (used once) setup in 40 and 9mm, and includes other extras (don't know details yet). Now I'm wondering if I really want one, or do I really need one?

Experience: I've been loading almost exclusively 40 S&W, just a little 9mm on a SDB since 2006. I am an engineer and don't mind complex machines. I am patient and good at fixing things that break or get out of adjustment.

Questions: Do I really need 8 stations to load 40? I seem to do just fine with four stations on my SDB. I understand swaging 9mm brass could be necessary if military brass is mixed in. Does the 1050 do anything special if an NT case comes around? The NT (Non Toxic) cases seem to leave part of the primer cups behind and then I ruin a new primer trying to seat it. I don't like sorting brass.

Currently I only shoot about 4000 rounds per year. I don't mind loading on the SDB. It's a good machine and turns out quality ammo. I spend about 1-2 hours in front of the machine each month. Even at half the loading rate, the 1050 will produce my annual ammo needs in an afternoon or two. Someday though, my son might get interested in shooting and my ammo consumption might double. He's 7 now, so maybe this would be in about 5 years.

What would you do?

I think once you got a progressive, you would wonder how you survived without it. A 1050 might be overkill. OK, it's overkill. :) But time is money, and a 1050 will save you a lot of time.

Worst case scenario is you get the press, hate it, sell it for every penny you paid for it, and go back to the SDB.