Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slugs

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Try an assortment and buy in bulk when you find one that hits closest to your point of aim at the range you expect to shoot. Reduced recoil is what you want to start with. Most find they get much quicker follow up shots and you will appreciate that on say a 10 slug target array like we just had at the SMM3G. My Benelli likes the Federal LE127's for 100 yard targets and the slower Remington reduced recoil sluggers for the 50 yard stuff.

Fiocchi Spreaders are birdshot intended for aerial clays. The pattern spreads out faster, and it can be handy to selective load those with regular birdshot when you have to shoot a popper to activate/toss the clay, and you want a tighter choke to knock down the popper but have the pattern spread out more for the clay on the following shot. I carry some.

Im new to 3gun, just got my JM 930

What slugs do I need and where do I get them?

Thanks Kevin

I've been using Brenneke KO's. Accurate at 100 with my M2. For some reason it just doesn't like Remington slugs at all. Where did you get your JM 930?

Im new to 3gun, just got my JM 930

What slugs do I need and where do I get them?

Thanks Kevin

I generally use Federal reduced recoil because they are cheap and work ok. I use Breneke Reduced recoil when I need accuracy as they group twice as good in my guns but they are expensive.

Pat

Next, What choke should I start with? Im talking put it in and shoot everything! slugs to bird shot.

Whichever choke shoots slugs the best, but improved cylinder or modified, usually.

Is low recoil Buckshoot 00 any good?