Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

627 let down = (

Beladran

So I decided to step up into modern times and get a 627

gun came in yesterday evening and was extremely happy with it untill I got home with it and started looking closer.

I am not sure if Ray Charles was the machinest for the chamfer/moonclip cut on this gun but geezus it was rough! There was lips on ever single surface was was sharp enough that I cut several layers of skin off just feeling it. The chamfer job was so rough that I am to embarrased to talk about it on here. Lucky for me I have a 45degree chamfer cutter and a dremil. After two hours of cutting and buffing I got all the burrs and lips off the metal, rechamfered the cylinder, and lightned the 20lb trigger pull. My moon clips are still not wanting to feed right about 20% of the time but its getting better. From the factory it took me almost five minutes to get one moon clip in there. Im still getting catchs with the cylinder. I am thinking about getting some 1200 grit wet sandpaper and smooth the first inch inside of each cylinder. I was even shocked with the ammount of metal shavings I found in the gun. I am guessing I got one off the bottom of the stack or it just skipped the last step in quality control? O well I will make the best of it

Well ... when I got several years back , That was the first gun that I never even shot before I gave it to the gun smith to .."fix". but in defense of S&W they are trying to keep the cost down and they do know that a competitor would rather pay less and do the detail them selfs than pay more at the front end.

It was Henry Ford that said "Successful business is based on close enough" I hated to read that until I realized just how rite he was. Even when I go to a restaurant = I shop for close enough . I don't want to pay for the best meal,from the best restaurant every day. even the shoes we buy are close enough.