Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why is recommended to NOT buy the Super 1050 if you are going to be do

waddo29

According to the Dillon pages on the Enos site, the XL 650 is the recommended machine if you are going to be reloading multiple calibers. I am curious how the 650 differs from the 1050 in that aspect. It seems to me, a complete novice to reloading, that if the Super 1050 can be set up with a quick change the same as the XL 650, then they should both be similarly efficient at reloading multiple calipers. I have multiple pistols and I have been shooting for a while now, I am looking at getting into reloading not so much because of the money, but because I have a 9MM open gun comming and finding ammo has been a problem so far. I also have an STI .40 S&W Limited gun, so if I am going to start reloading it makes sense to load for both. I would appreciate any feed back on the subject.

Todd

The 1050 'quick change', is better than resetting all the dies and everything, but not in the speed/ease realm of the 650 quick change. Even with that $270 kit, it takes a lot longer to shift over. I do it, but try to load a few thousand rounds between switches so I don't have to do it all that often.

I have a 1050 and I swap between 40 and 9 about once a month. It as become about a 5 minute process. I also have a 550 and it is only slightly quicker to do a changeover.

I like the 1050 for the swager. If not for that I would have gotten the 650.

In my opinion, the time it takes to convert from one caliber to another is not an issue. You should be taking the time to clean the press anyway.

The biggest drawback is the cost. The cost of the converstion and toolhead plus powder measure is steep. It's also worth it.

MY advice is to buy the 1050 if you can afford it. Just make sure you have enough brass to load a months worth of ammo per caliber.