Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

glock 34 gen 3 or gen 4

fellas

First of all hello this is my first time posting on this forum and great thanks for the info you find here.

My question is this, i am thinking of glock 34 for an al round gun and maybe doing some idpa shooting in future, which one guys, gen 3 time and reliable proven or gen 4 which is knew on the market. I appreciate your help

thanks

fellas

Honestly, my bias is that I don't want to be the first kid on the block to bet my success on a new gun. Many new gun designs have teething problems during their initial runs - and that's certainly been the case with the Gen-4 9mms. I'd rather bet on something that's already been around for years, developing a sterling reputation for reliability in the process. Gen-3 for me.

Fellas,

I was in the same boat as you, but them came to the realization that Gen 3's are proven and noted for their dependability. I would rather buy something that I've shot and know will work versus something that I've heard may or may not work based on reviews.

Duane's post makes a lot of sense. I've kicked around the idea of ordering a new Gen 4, 34 but my Gen 3 works so well a new gun isn't needed. I guess it's just an excuse for a new gun, but it's got to be reliable otherwise what's the point...

A friend of my shot a match on Saturday with a Gen4 G17. He has been shooting this gun all season. After the match he ordered a Gen3 G34 and plans to sell the Gen4. The issue last weekend that put him over the top was failure to extract.

Don't want to be negative about Glock, but I've heard that story several times...plus other problems as well :blush::blink::(

Staying with my generation three models...for sure B)

Edited by Dwain C. Baer

The only reason I see right now for the gen4 over gen3 is if you have overly large hands such as me. It looks like glock will be adding a backstrap feature which includes a beavertail. That would be my only want on my current Gen3

Bets