Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading Options - Square Deal B or 550B

38SuperDub

OK before you say 550B right off the bat read my post.

I am just getting into USPSA right now. I shoot 40 S&W and plan to stay in limited for a while. I have ZERO plans right now to do any 3 gun shooting. Just too much of an investment with me having to buy a shotgun and an ar-15. Since I only plan to reload pistol rounds - and I am on a limited budget - is the Square Deal B a good option?

Thanks in advance.

Brandon

If you plan on only reloading pistol, then the Square Deal B is an excellent choice. Really, really hard to double charge or no charge a round on the SDB, and it comes with dies already installed. I love mine.

Thats what I like hearing - the only thing i ever plan to reload (atleast for the next 4 or 5 years) is pistol - and IFFFF I ever want to move to rifle - I'll worry about that at that time....but I really dont see it in the future....

Do you want answers or just validation for the choice you have already made ?

No way I would pick a SDB, lack of future versatility, and was very dissatisfied with Dillon dies, not sure If SDB dies are any better but wouldnt risk it, I got loads of chamber check failures using Dillon seat die,

Also no way to use a separate seat crimp die, U die, or Lee FCD die on a SDB. Once you get more into match ammo where one bad round can ruin a match you'll realize what those are for.

550 with out a doubt. SDB is just tiny compared to the 550. Lack of Roller Handle, Lack of die choices, higher caliber conversion cost. There is a reason the 550 is so popular. Lack of auto indexing is not a big deal. Pay attention, learn the process. Even if you never, ever plan to load rifle I would still get the 550.

Since I only plan to reload pistol rounds - and I am on a limited budget - is the Square Deal B a good option?