Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I Am Not A Spectator Sport

benos

Received this via email:

I AM NOT A SPECTATOR SPORT

I am a 118 pound young woman. I have enjoyed shooting for many years. I travel for a living, so I am frequently the new girl at the range. Here's a sample of the Top 3 greetings I usually get, while I'm setting up my station, BEFORE I fire my first shot:

1) "Hello, little missy, have you ever fired a gun before?"

2) "Is that a .45? That seems like an awfully big gun for such a little girl"

3) "Tee-hee.... make sure you aim for center mass, not the groin area! ha ha ha."

As I begin shooting, I often wind up with a crowd standing around me, commentating. Suddenly, I'm a spectator sport. A few months ago, a man even felt compelled to walk up behind me, while I'm shooting, and start massaging my shoulders!! Is it ever considered normal to start massaging a strange woman with a loaded .45 in her hand?

I may not be able to shoot an aphid off a fly's ass from 100 yards, but from 25 yards, I can produce a grouping tighter than Lance Armstrong's spandex's. And yes, I'm a girl, and I'm small. WOW.

If a girl wants to go dancing, she goes to a disco. If she likes to shop, she'll go to a mall. If she wants to shoot her Kimber Classic Custom, she'll go to a shooting range, and if she needs your help, SHE'LL ASK FOR IT.

Thanks,

C. Yentzen

be

We joked that we were going to get my girlfriend a shirt that read:

If you name isn't Robbie or Brian...then shut the f*ck up!!!

Now she pretty much knows everybody she shoots with...so she tells them herself.

How bou't - If I want any Sh*t outa you I will squeeze your head! - Thats a good tee shirt message...

I guess I'm too ugly (and my guns too big)(and my bullet holes too nicely grouped--on good days, anyway) to attract such idiots. Most of 'the guys' that don't already know me DO make friends and strike up a conversation, like

"...Wow, what are you shooting??"