Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does anyone know of any ACTUAL instance of firing a CZ while decocking

ManNamedJed

I always hear people getting bunched up about decocking a CZ by lowering the trigger. I've been shooting mine for two years and can say I haven't even come close. My wife now shoots my SP01 and has no problems with it.

So, does anyone know of any actual instance where someone has had a ND while decocking a CZ? Has anyone even had the hammer slip out of their fingers?

Yep. Oil on the hammer.

At the start of every stage in USPSA competition in production division, all CZ shooters with manual safeties (and there's a good number of them) have to lower the hammer manually. That one day our friend just happened to eff it up and it slipped from his hands.

Now when he does his pre-flight check, he added a step in his routine where he wipes his left fingers on the hammer, then wipes his left fingers on his pants before lowering the hammer.

Yep...I was ROing a local match when a competitor after the Make Ready command allowed the hammer to slip a bit on his CZ while lowering it.

IIRC he was not very happy about being dq'd. (most folks are not)

Been there done that, got the DQ to show for it. My CZ is a pre-B with the bigger spur hammer on it. I decock it with both hands but got in a hurry one time and didn't. Brain fart plus rushing what I was doing ended up a ND and the slide taking a nice little chunk out of my thumb. Oh well, live and learn. It was my fault and I know what I did wrong. It sure wouldn't chase me away from shooting that gun though!

I didn't dq with it, but I was getting used to my new Shadow in late 2008, doing a little plate rack work when it slipped. The slide came back as the gun discharged and hit me in the sternum... :wacko: that hurt. :blink: Now I hold the gun out slighty to my strong side, away from my body while doing that part of "make ready..."