Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I have to tell you guys this, because my wife doesn’t care

chbrow10

I have to tell you guys this, because my wife doesn't care, and my shooting partner (my 10 year old son) doesn't get how cool this is.

I am a D shooter, I've been shooting USPSA for about 9 months. We went to the 2009 Mississippi Classic last weekend. We had a blast and are already looking forward to going next year.

My goal (not expectation) for this match was to be the high D shooter in Single Stack. Unfortunately, I was the only D shooter, so I had automatically achieved my goal by showing up. ;-) I went through the match doing the best that I could, "seeing what I needed to see" and "making the most important shot the one that I was firing at that moment". I knew my plan, and was relatively relaxed during the stages. I did my best to have "visual patience" waiting for the sight picture. Of course, on some really close ones, you could use an Enos "Type 2" focus and not really need a sight picture and still get two alphas. I always shot for all alphas, trying to get 95% of the available points for each stage.

So how did all this work out for me? I ended up beating all the C shooters. The top C shooter was right below me. The irony is that the score on the classifier I shot at this match will give me a C classification. I finished 9th out of 14. One two stages, I placed 6th out of 14, and there were two Masters, an A shooter, and 2 B shooters in Single Stack. I am doing all this with a $420 Rock Island Armory Tactical 1911 clone, with very little mods, not even sights. All my reloads were on a Lee turret press.