Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Locking The Strong Elbow

Dowter

In my never ending search for the optimum technique, I was working with locking the elbow in my strong arm and I found some interesting results. I'm interested to hear others opinions about the matter. I'm still learning this thing. :D

I was shooting at a bowling pin target(5 pins drawn on a paper) with about 200 rounds and just about for the first time ever, I didn't get the bullet-shanked-to-the-bottom-left pattern. I was trying to shoot at top speed; accuracy wasn't my main focus. I missed a few but my misses were evenly distributed around my intended impact area. My usual bullet pattern dispersal is a clump of holes of where I aimed and from that clump a trail going down and to the left from the shots where I performed poor trigger control.

This time I didn't get that pattern and though I was pleased not to see it, I couldn't figure out why. So I studied my new stance with the strong elbow locked and I realized that with the elbow locked I was able to totally relax my shooting hand. There was almost no tension in my hand. The dexterity in my trigger finger vastly improved.

(Also the front sight flipped less and the gun felt more in control, but this is minor compaired to improved trigger finger dexterity)

The muscles in the arm are all connected so it's hard to keep the hand loose while the muscles in the arm are flexing and trying to keep the arms bent at a certain angle. When I lock my elbow, the recoil is being handled by my bones and not the muscles so the muscles are totally loose. I probably have about a 70/30 grip with my weak hand doing most of the gripping, but I'm not bothered by the increased tension in my weak hand since it doesn't require the dexterity of pulling the trigger.