Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 Cal And Vv320

Tacblack

OK lets see if I can not sound like a dummy. I have been shooting VV340 and montana gold bullets 180 for some time. My wonder is I load to an OAL of 1.150 so I can use my 40's in all my guns.

I have some VV320 and know the pressure spike can be a problem loading this set up. Every one loads them long. Is this a must, can it be done in a shorter OAL that I could still use in other guns. What is the shortest OAL anyone loads VV320 with?

Would it be wroth it to change to VV320 in a longer OAL, then a shorter OAL with VV340. Should I try VV330 at the OAL I use now. I will happely give up a lighter feel of recoil for a safty and gun longivity.

Hope everyone understands. Some history, I have been loading since 1997. IPSC major 38 super, 40. Minor 38 special, 9mm, 357 sig, 40. I have used VV330,340 and 350, VV330 only on 9mm's been working great! VV350 for all and VV340 for super minor and 40's.

Any info or input will be welcome. Thanks :D

If 340 has been working for you I would just stick with that and try to sell your 320 at a local match. I dont think I have seen anyone load 320 to less than 1.180, but I'm sure there are some out there. Have you looked on jmass site?

1.185,1.195,1.200,1.250 in my 2011. I suspect shorter oal needs less powder and more efficient if it will feed.

Since i want to keep my trusty glock rig up and running in case i blow a powersteering hose or somthing in this 2011,i might play with a shorter oal to use same :blink: ammo in both

I've used 4.8 grs. of N-320 over a Precision 185/.40 at 1.155". Thats probably a little long for what your looking for but its a place to start. This load used Winchester Small Pistol primers and came in at 165.3 power factor from a 5" barrel.

Al

In the Philippines, I load my 40 to 1.210" on an SVI with ultimatch barrel the load is 4.9 grains and hits 175 pf.