Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Group Shooting

mjbine

I started shooting groups again at practice. It is great to get a nice controlled group before and after practice. Do you shoot groups? If so how much? Seeing what you need to see and having great trigger control to get that group tight as possible. Man if only I could get good enough to get two Alphas touching on each and every target.

Friday's are my dedicated "group shooting" day (200rds). I shoot groups standing freestyle, stonghand only, weakhand only, squatting through a port and leaning around a barricade at 25 yards. I generally don't shoot groups bagged or on a bench because I never shoot that way in competition. I shoot one mag slowfire- "feeling" each shot off, and one mag rapid fire- releasing the shot as soon as I see the sights settle into the A zone. I also shoot 10-20 rounds for "groups" during regular practice days on occasion.

Edited by Rocket35

The only time I bag a gun, is when I want to sight it in. So the only thing I am doing is lining the sights up and putting enough pressure to let the gun go off, and forgot the breathing is important to. But after that I will group shoot a little with out a bag,but not too much, by your definition. But when I practice shooting targets comming into positions, I consider that a form of group shooting, because I am trying to get my bullets as close to each other as possible in the "A zone". Actually today I am going to do some strong hand weak hand grouping. Just to try and improve that skill.