Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cz75 Specific Questions

Vlad

I've been using my CZ for USPSA production for about 3 years now. Along the way I've tried various things with various degrees of success. There are two issues that I'm not totally happy with and I would like to see what other CZ shooters do about them:

1) Recoil springs. I'm currently using the factory recoil spring. I know a number of people use reduce power springs, and I've liked them myself when I tried them. The problem is that Wolff springs are too long and I've had the 12lb spring kink and lock up my gun. I've been tempted to buy a Wolff 14lb spring and cut it to the lenghth of the factory one, but then I won't have any idea what actuall "weight" it has. How do you get your lower power springs to length and still have some clue of what you are using? Also, have you had any problems with the slide having enough energy to return into battery when the feedramp and chamber are dirty?

2) Mag brake. I've replaced the original mag brake with a "drop free" one, but it is still in contact with the mag body and slows down mag ejection. And that is when my mags and gun are clean. If I get some grit, or sand on my mags I end up having to rip the mag out. At this point I'm ready to remove the damn thing all together and run without it. In the past I heard some CZ recomendation to not do that as you may damage the mainspring on reloads, but as far as I can tell, thats not possible as the grip screw mounts will not permit the mag to touch the mainspring. At worst, a fast reload may get the mag rear hanging a bit on the screw mounts, but that could be avoided with practice. I guess removing the brake will also allow more dust/grit to come into contact with the mainspring and strut, but they aren't exactly airtight to begin with, and with the brake out, it would be easier to clean them anyway. Anyone else running without the brake, or any reasons not to?

Edited by Vlad

• Replies 53
  • Created