Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My Concerns About Single Stack Division (part1)

cliffy109

This is part 1 of a two part subject dealing with the new Single Stack division. I don't want this to sound like a gripe. I'm new to USPSA but have been shooting IDPA for a few years now. I'm also new to this forum and I want to be respectful about this. I'm coming here with the honest hope that somebody of influence will take note and address this.

My concern is the magazine capacity limits in this division. Specifically, I'm concerned about the minor power factor shooters having a 25% capacity advantage over the major PF guys. If the idea of the new SS division is to attract CDP shooters from IDPA, this quirk is going to be a serious barrier to that end. It makes those of us with .45 ACP pistols throw up our hands and say "why bother?"

Here is what I'm talking about. In my first match with the SS division, there were 4 stages. One was a classifier (see my other post about this) and the other three were 20 round stages. Can you see where this is headed already? Major PF shooters had to perform 2 mag changes on each stage where the minor guys had to do 1. That's a total of three additional mag changes during a match. How long does one mag change take for a C or B class shooter? Maybe 2 to 3 seconds multiplied over three stages? That's a pretty big time penalty for the major PF shooters.

What's the purpose of this? Minor PF shooters do have different scoring. I realize that, but that scoring difference is not there to make up for mag changes. Its there because a 125,000 PF is a lot more controllable than a 164,000 PF round and they should be more accurate. There is no difference in magazine capacity in L10 between major and minor so why is there in SS? It seems the only purpose of this is to encourage the use of .38 Super downloaded to minimum velocity.

What can I do about this? As a newish USPSA shooter, I have a few options: